Foreigner Celebrate Milestone 40TH Anniversary

Foreigner Celebrate Milestone 40TH Anniversary


Foreigner will celebrate 40 years with a new career-spanning compilation titled 40 that features 40 hits from 40 years to coincide with their extensive 40th Anniversary world tour. Rhino Records release 40 on May 19 as a double-CD that includes 40 songs recorded between 1977 and 2017. A double-vinyl version that features 23 songs will be also be released on June 2.

Following their self-titled debut in 1977, Foreigner - Mick Jones (lead guitar), Kelly Hansen (lead vocals), Jeff Pilson (bass, vocals), Tom Gimbel (rhythm guitar, sax, vocals), Michael Bluestein (keyboards), Bruce Watson (guitar) and Chris Frazier (drums) - went on to record some of rock’s biggest anthems — "Juke Box Hero" and "Hot Blooded" — as well as the #1 smash "I Want To Know What Love Is". The group has 10 multi-platinum albums to its credit and is one of the best-selling bands of all time, with worldwide sales in excess of 75 million. Pretty impressive stuff.

40 brings together the best songs from Foreigner’s nine studio albums, including all 8 of their Australian Top 40 hits, from "Feels Like The First Time" to "Cold As Ice", "Waiting For A Girl Like You" and more. The collection features "Too Late" from the group’s 2008 retrospective No End In Sight and "The Flame Still Burns", the title track from a vinyl EP released just last year, making its debut on CD. All recordings have been remastered and the album includes two new tracks recorded especially for this release, "Give My Life For Love" and a new version of "I Don’t Want To Live Without You".

The first disc covers Foreigner’s first five albums: Foreigner (1977), Double Vision (1978), Head Games (1979), 4 (1981) and Agent Provocateur (1984). The 21 tracks include some the group’s biggest hits ("Urgent" and "Feels Like The First Time") as well as deeper cuts like "Luanne" and "Women". The second disc features songs from Inside Information (1987), Unusual Heat (1991), Mr. Moonlight (1994) and Can’t Slow Down (2009), and features "Rain", "When It Comes to Love" and "Heart Turns To Stone".

Phew! Plenty to keep Foreigner fans happy and all the hits for casual fans.


Disc One

  1. Feels Like The First Time (Radio Edit)
  2. Starrider
  3. Cold As Ice
  4. Long, Long Way From Home
  5. Headknocker
  6. Hot Blooded (Radio Edit)
  7. Double Vision (Radio Edit)
  8. Blue Morning, Blue Day
  9. Dirty White Boy (Radio Edit)
  10. Head Games
  11. Women
  12. Urgent (Radio Edit)
  13. Juke Box Hero
  14. Waiting For A Girl Like You
  15. Night Life
  16. Luanne
  17. I Want To Know What Love Is
  18. That Was Yesterday
  19. Tooth And Nail
  20. Reaction To Action (Radio Edit)
  21. Down On Love

Disc Two

  1. Heart Turns To Stone
  2. Can’t Wait
  3. Lowdown And Dirty
  4. Soul Doctor
  5. White Lie
  6. Rain
  7. All I Need To Know
  8. Too Late
  9. When It Comes To Love
  10. Can’t Slow Down
  11. In Pieces
  12. Fool For You Anyway
  13. Say You Will
  14. Save Me
  15. Girl On The Moon (Live)
  16. Break It Up (Live)
  17. I Don’t Want To Live Without You – New Recording
  18. Give My Life For Love – New Recording
  19. The Flame Still Burns – Available On CD For The First Time


Side One

  1. Feels Like The First Time
  2. Cold As Ice
  3. Hot Blooded
  4. Double Vision
  5. Dirty White Boy
  6. Head Games

Side Two

  1. Urgent
  2. Juke Box Hero
  3. Luanne
  4. Waiting For A Girl Like You
  5. I Want To Know What Love Is
  6. That Was Yesterday

Side Three

  1. Heart Turns To Stone
  2. Can’t Wait
  3. Soul Doctor
  4. Rain
  5. Starrider

Side Four

  1. When It Comes To Love
  2. Can’t Slow Down
  3. Too Late
  4. Say You Will
  5. I Don’t Want To Live Without You
  6. The Flame Still Burns

Both versions of the album are available to pre-order now.

Related Posts