The Haunting Soundtracks To Twin Peaks Are Coming To Vinyl

The Haunting Soundtracks To Twin Peaks Are Coming To Vinyl


Showtime’s highly-anticipated revival of David Lynch’s groundbreaking television series Twin Peaks, is on the way and has fans of the original series buzzing. To celebrate, Rhino will re-release the soundtracks to the original series, as well as the subsequent film, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me.

The Soundtrack From Twin Peaks and Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me will be reissued individually on 180-gram vinyl on May 19. The music arrives shortly before the new Twin Peaks series premieres in Australia on Stan from Monday May 22.

Lynch was already an acclaimed film director in 1990 when he and Mark Frost created the original television series about the murder of homecoming queen Laura Palmer. Today, the surreal murder mystery, which spanned two seasons, is credited with expanding the boundaries of television.

Similar to Lynch’s films, music played a prominent role in Twin Peaks and helped establish the haunting, dreamlike nature of the series. To create the 1990 soundtrack, Lynch enlisted composer Angelo Badalamenti, with whom he’d worked on the film Blue Velvet (1986).

They produced the soundtrack together, with Lynch supplying lyrics for three songs: "The Nightingale", "Into The Night" and the series’ theme song "Falling". Vocalist Julee Cruise, who sang all three songs, had worked with Lynch and Badalamenti previously on Blue Velvet and her 1989 solo album Floating Into The Night. A year after Soundtrack From Twin Peaks was released, "Twin Peaks Theme" won the Grammy for Best Pop Instrumental Performance.

The film Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me was released in 1992 as a companion to the television series. Lynch and Badalamenti reprised their roles as producers on Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me. Badalamenti once again composed all of the music while Lynch penned lyrics for several tracks, including "Sycamore Trees" sung by jazz vocalist Jimmy Scott and "Questions In A World Of Blue" sung by Cruise. Lynch also wrote "A Real Indication" and "The Black Dog Runs At Night", two tracks that were performed by Thought Gang, a musical project he started with Badalamenti, who provided the music and vocals on both songs.


  1. Twin Peaks Theme
  2. Laura Palmer’s Theme
  3. Audrey’s Dance
  4. The Nightingale – vocals by Julee Cruise
  5. Freshly Squeezed
  6. The Bookhouse Boys
  7. Into the Night – vocals by Julee Cruise
  8. Nightlife in Twin Peaks
  9. Dance of the Dream Man
  10. Love Theme from Twin Peaks
  11. Falling – vocals by Julee Cruise



  1. Theme From Twin Peaks – Fire Walk With Me
  2. The Pine Float
  3. Sycamore Trees – vocals by Jimmy Scott
  4. Don’t Do Anything (I Wouldn’t Do)
  5. A Real Indication – by Thought Gang, vocals by Badalamenti
  6. Questions In A World of Blue – vocals by Julee Cruise
  7. The Pink Room
  8. The Black Dog Runs At Night – by Thought Gang, vocals by Badalamenti
  9. Best Friends
  10. Moving Through Time
  11. Montage from Twin Peaks – Girl Talk/Birds in Hell/Laura Palmer’s Theme/Falling
  12. The Voice of Love

Keen to get your hands on either soundtrack, they're available to pre-order now.

Related Posts