The Rolling Stones Confess The Blues

The Rolling Stones Confess The Blues

Posted 17 Oct 2018
rolling stones confessin the blues
 Chuck Berry and Keith Richards, 1986 (Photo by James Fraher/Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images)

“If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music.” – Keith Richards

Confessin’ The Blues collects together the greatest bluesmen ever and provides a perfect education to the genre. The track listing has been chosen by The Rolling Stones, in collaboration with BMG and Universal and will be released on 9 November. The Rolling Stones have long been supporters of the Blues from before the start of their career right through to their latest album, Blue & Lonesome which featured their interpretations of the classics, many of which appear in their original versions here on Confessin’ The Blues. Mick Jagger was an early fan of the Blues: “The first Muddy Waters album that was really popular was Muddy Waters at Newport, which was the first album I ever bought”.

Confessin’ The Blues includes tracks by the biggest Blues pioneers including Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy and Robert Johnson. All of these artists had an impact on the nascent Rolling Stones, be they influencing Keith’s guitar licks or Mick’s vocals and lyrics. As Ronnie Wood says: “That’s how Mick and Keith first got close as well, on the train coming back from college. They noticed each other’s record collection and it was, “Hey, you’ve got Muddy Waters. You must be a good guy, let’s form a band”. 

Confessin’ The Blues is a real musical education from those who know the genre best, one of the greatest living bands on the planet, The Rolling Stones.

10% of the album's sales will be donated to Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation. 

Jacqueline Dixon, President/CEO of The Blues Foundation, said: "We are extremely honoured, grateful and humbled that Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation has been included in such an astonishing project. It means so much that my father’s dream of creating an organisation that promotes, protects and preserves the Blues for future generations is being recognised and supported by artists that have achieved so much."

Tracklist for Confessin' The Blues:

1. Muddy Waters Rollin’ Stone
2 Howlin’ Wolf Little Red Rooster 
3. John Lee Hooker Boogie Chillen 
4. Little Walter Hate To See You Go 
5. Chuck Berry Little Queenie
6. Bo Diddley You Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover
7. Eddie Taylor Ride ‘Em On Down 
8. Slim Harpo I’m A King Bee
9. Magic Sam All Your Love 
10. Elmore James Dust My Broom 
11. Little Walter Just Your Fool 12. Muddy Waters I Want To Be Loved
13. Big Bill Broonzy Key To The Highway
14. Robert Johnson Love In Vain Blues 
15. Mississippi Fred McDowell You Gotta Move 
16. Jimmy Reed Bright Lights, Big City 
17. Big Maceo Worried Life Blues 
18. Little Johnny Taylor Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (Part 1)
19. Howlin’ Wolf Commit A Crime 
20. Otis Rush I Can’t Quit You Baby 
21. Jay McShann & Walter Brown Confessin’ The Blues 

1. Howlin’ Wolf Just Like I Treat You 
2. Little Walter I Got To Go
3. Chuck Berry Carol
4. Bo Diddley Mona
5. Muddy Waters I Just Want To Make Love To You
6. Elmore James Blues Before Sunrise
7. Eddie Taylor Bad Boy
8. Boy Blue Boogie Children 
9. Jimmy Reed Little Rain 
10. Robert Johnson Stop Breakin’ Down Blues 
11. Reverend Robert Wilkins The Prodigal Son 
12. Lightnin’ Slim Hoodoo Blues 
13. Billy Boy Arnold Don’t Stay Out All Night
14. Bo Diddley Craw Dad
15. Dale Hawkins Suzie Q
16. Amos Milburn Down The Road  Apiece
17. Howlin’ Wolf Little Baby 
18. Little Walter Blue And Lonesome
19. B.B. King Rock Me Baby 
20. Buddy Guy Damn Right I’ve Got The Blues
21. Muddy Waters Mannish Boy 

We love this video starring Hollywood A-lister Kristen Stewart, taken from the Blue And Lonesome album, a cover of the Eddie Taylor track "Ride 'Em On Down"...

Related Posts