Black Sabbath Announce Massive Expanded Reissue of Vol. 4

Black Sabbath Announce Massive Expanded Reissue of Vol. 4

Posted 3 Dec 2020
black sabbath, 1973
Tony Iommi & Ozzy Osbourne of Black Sabbath live inMarch 1973. Photo by Ian Dickson/Redferns/Getty Images. 

Innovators of heavy metal, Black Sabbath have just announced a massive expanded reissue of their 1972 album Vol. 4 , due out on February 12th. Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition will include a newly remastered version of the original album plus 20 previously unreleased studio and live recordings.

When Vol. 4 was first unleashed in 1972, it marked a turning point for Sabbath as they drew more prog and experimental influences into their heavy-hitting hard rock. It was the band's fourth album in two years and arrived stacked with classics like “Supernaut,” “Changes,” and “Snowblind.” 

Black Sabbath | “Supernaut”

Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition will be available a 4-CD set and a 5-LP set pressed on 180-gram vinyl, Both versions come with extensive booklets featuring liner notes and quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album featuring the working title, Snowblind

These bonus material will transport you into the studio with six previously unreleased studio outtakes and eleven additional recordings featuring alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue, offering priceless insight into the making of the album.

The collection concludes with a searing collection of live performances from Sabbath’s 1973 U.K. tour for Vol 4., including thrilling live versions of Vol 4. tracks “Tomorrow’s Dream” and “Cornucopia” and fan faves like “Paranoid” and “War Pigs.”

Listen to the newly remastered version of “Tomorrow’s Dream” streaming now, HERE.

Check out the full track listing for Black Sabbath’s Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition below. The expanded set is due out on February 12th. Available for pre-order now, HERE.

sabbath vol 4
Black Sabbath Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition.

Black Sabbath, 'Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition' Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

1. “Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener”

2. “Tomorrow’s Dream”

3. “Changes”

4. “FX”

5. “Supernaut”

6. “Snowblind”

7. “Cornucopia”

8. “Laguna Sunrise”

9. “St. Vitus Dance”

10. “Under the Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes”


Disc Two: Outtakes - New Mixes

1. “Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener”

2. “Changes”

3. “Supernaut”

4. “Snowblind”

5. “Laguna Sunrise”

6. “Under the Sun” (Instrumental)


Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

1. “Wheels of Confusion” (False Start with Studio Dialogue)

2. “Wheels of Confusion” (Alternative Take 1)

3. “Wheels of Confusion” (Alternative Take 2)

4. “Wheels of Confusion” (Alternative Take 3)

5. “Wheels of Confusion” (Alternative Take 4)

6. “The Straightener” (Outtake)

7. “Supernaut” (Outtake)

8. “Supernaut” (Alternative Takes with False Starts)

9. “Snowblind” (Alternative Take 1 - Incomplete)

10. “Under the Sun” (False Start with Studio Dialogue)

11. “Under the Sun” (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal)


Disc Four: Live In The UK 1973

1. “Tomorrow’s Dream”

2. “Sweet Leaf”

3. “War Pigs”

4. “Snowblind”

5. “Killing Yourself To Live”

6. “Cornucopia”

7. “Wicked World” (Includes Excerpts of:)

i. Guitar Solo

ii. “Orchid”

iii. “Into the Void”

iv. “Sometimes I’m Happy”

8. “Supernaut” / Drum Solo

9. “Wicked World” (Reprise)

10. “Embryo”

11. “Children Of The Grave”

12. “Paranoid”


Listen to Black Sabbath on Spotify:

Listen to Black Sabbath on Apple Music:

Related Posts