Jethro Tull's Stand Up Gets Elevated

Jethro Tull's Stand Up Gets Elevated


Released in the summer of 1969, Jethro Tull’s second album, Stand Up, marked an early turning point for the band with the addition of guitarist Martin Barre (who had replaced Mick Abrahams after musical differences with Ian Anderson came to a head) along with Anderson’s introduction of folk-rock influences to the group’s blues-based sound. Anderson took over the wheel with full control over the album's musical and lyrical content. The result was a much more electic and diverse album, that ranged from the swirling blues of "A New Day Yesterday" and the mandolin-fueled rave-up of "Fat Man", to the group’s spirited re-working of Bach’s "Bouree" (in E Minor).

Despite this perhaps risky new direction, Stand Up was met with a positive response, rising quickly to the top of the UK Album charts and eventually going Gold in the US. In a recent interview, Anderson picked Stand Up as his favourite Tull album, “because that was my first album of first really original music. It has a special place in my heart.”

Jethro Tull fans who also have a special place in their hearts for Stand Up, will be tooting their flutes over the newly announced Stand Up: The Elevated Edition, a deluxe 2CD/1DVD version of the album, due for release on November 18 and available to pre-order now.

Highlights from the set:

  • Original album and bonus tracks remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson
  • 96/24 flat transfer of the original stereo master tapes
  • 96/24 flat transfer of the original mono and stereo mixes of "Living In The Past" and "Driving Song"
  • Video of the band performing live in January 1969
  • A 112-page booklet with an extensive history of the album, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, plus rare and unseen photographs
  • Includes the original album’s pop-up book artwork (so the band members would "stand up" get it) designed by James Grashow (a woodcarver who followed Tull around for a week in order to properly capture the band in wood)

The first disc features Steven Wilson’s new stereo mixes of the original album, along with a number of rare recordings, including an unreleased version of "Bouree". Other highlights include four songs recorded at the BBC, plus stereo single mixes for "Living In The Past" and "Driving Song".

The second disc captures Jethro Tull performing live in Sweden, where the band opened for guitar legend Jimi Hendrix in 1969. Recorded only a few weeks after Barre joined the band, the concert includes songs from Tull’s debut album ("A Song For Jeffery" and "My Sunday Feeling"), as well as two songs destined for Stand Up: Back To The Family and Nothing Is Easy. Rounding out the disc are mono single mixes for Living In The Past and Driving Song, plus two radio spots promoting the album.

The DVD includes concert footage of the band performing "To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be" and "Back To The Family". The disc also features Wilson’s remix of the original album in PCM stereo and DD/DTS 5.1 surround sound; a 96/24 flat transfer of the original stereo master tapes; plus a 96/24 flat transfer of the original mono and stereo mixes of "Living In The Past" and "Driving Song".


CD1: Stereo Mixes by Steven Wilson

  1. A New Day Yesterday
  2. Jeffery Goes To Leicester Square
  3. Bouree
  4. Back To The Family
  5. Look Into The Sun
  6. Nothing Is Easy
  7. Fat Man
  8. We Used To Know
  9. Reasons For Waiting
  10. For A Thousand Mothers
  11. Living In The Past
  12. Driving Song
  13. Bouree – Morgan Version*
  14. Living In The Past – Original 1969 Stereo Single Mix
  15. Driving Song – Original 1969 Stereo Single Mix
  16. A New Day Yesterday – BBC Sessions
  17. Fat Man – BBC Sessions
  18. Nothing Is Easy – BBC Sessions
  19. Bouree – BBC Sessions

CD2: Live at The Stockholm Konserthuset (January 9, 1969)

  1. Introduction
  2. My Sunday Feeling
  3. Martin’s Tune
  4. To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be
  5. Back To The Family
  6. Dharma For One
  7. Nothing Is Easy
  8. A Song For Jeffery
  9. To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be – first show version
  10. Living In The Past – Original 1969 Mono Single Mix
  11. Driving Song – Original 1969 Mono Single Mix
  12. Stand Up Radio Spot #1
  13. Stand Up Radio Spot #2

DVD: Audio and Video

  • Steven Wilson remixes in 96/24 PCM stereo and DD/DTS 5.1 surround
  • 96/24 flat transfer of Stand Up original stereo master tapes from June 5, 1969
  • 96/24 flat transfer of original mono and stereo mixes of “Living In The Past” and “Driving Song”
  • Video footage from Stockholm 1969: “To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be” and “Back To The Family”

* Previously Unreleased 


In further exciting news, Jethro Tull has been announced as part of the line up at the 28th Bluesfest Festival held in Byron Bay over the Easter weekend in April 2017 - joining the already impressive line-up including Neil Young, Doobie Brothers, Santana, Patti Smith, Buddy Guy and many more. There are also additional concert dates ahead of the festival in Perth, Sydney, and Melbourne.

April 11 - Perth, Concert Hall
April 13 - Melbourne, Hamer Hall
April 15 - Sydney, State Theatre
April 16 - Byron Bay, Bluesfest (performing a "best of Jethro Tull" setlist)

 For more details, visit the Bluesfest website or Facebook.

- RB

Related Posts