Joni 75: A Birthday Celebration Available on DVD

Joni 75: A Birthday Celebration Available on DVD

joni mitchell

 Joni Mitchell, California 1976. Photo by Larry Hulst/Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images

Joni Mitchell – one of the world’s most-remarkable artists – turned 75 on November 7 of last year. In celebration of this milestone and her profound artistic legacy, The Music Center in Los Angeles assembled an incredible all-star lineup of singers and musicians at The Music Center’s Dorothy Chandler Pavilion to perform a collection of Mitchell’s most well-loved songs. The show was performed over two sold-out nights and garnered rave reviews by those in attendance. 

The star-studded cast of performers delivered personal takes on some of their favourites from Mitchell’s extensive songbook, demonstrating a true testament to the influence her music has had on popular culture since her debut in 1968. 

Performers included Brandi Carlile, Glen Hansard, Emmylou Harris, Norah Jones, Chaka Khan, Diana Krall, Kris Kristofferson, Los Lobos with La Marisoul, Cesar Castro, and Xochi Flores, Graham Nash, Seal, James Taylor and Rufus Wainwright.  

“The Music Centre Presents - Joni 75: A Birthday Celebration

Now, for all of us who weren’t lucky enough to witness the extravaganza first hand, a DVD compilation featuring 21 standout performances from the shows is set for release. The Music Centre Presents Joni 75: A Birthday Celebration will be available on March 29, 2019. 

The performances highlight songs from all stages of Mitchell’s career and touch upon many of her most-treasured albums. One particularly moving outlier is Mitchell’s ex-lover, Graham Nash’s (from Crosby, Stills and Nash) gentle rendition of his own song “Our House”, written at the height of he and Mitchell’s era of domestic bliss in Laurel Canyon during the 60s. To close the show, all the performers returned to the stage for a group performance of Mitchell’s best-known song, “Big Yellow Taxi.” 

Rachel Moore, president and CEO of The Music Center, said, “We were so fortunate to be able to produce two concerts that honored one of the world’s most inspirational and dynamic artists, Joni Mitchell; they were once-in-a-lifetime experiences for all those able to attend and celebrate her. Now, thanks to our partners at Rhino, so many more people will see and experience Joni’s extraordinary talents expressed by other incredible music legends whose lives and music were deeply impacted by her artistry.” 

A CD version of The Music Centre Presents Joni 75: A Birthday Celebration is available already, the accompanying DVD will be released on March 29. 

Happy Birthday Joni Mitchell! may the celebrations continue all year round!



DVD Track Listing

1. “Court And Spark” – Norah Jones

2. “Coyote” – Glen Hansard

3. “For The Roses” – Diana Krall

4. “Blue” – Rufus Wainwright

5. “The Magdalene Laundries” – Emmylou Harris

6. “Help Me” – Chaka Khan

7. “Dreamland” – Los Lobos with La Marisoul, Xochi Flores & Cesar Castro

8. “Nothing Can Be Done” – Los Lobos with La Marisoul, Xochi Flores & Cesar Castro

9. “River” – James Taylor

10. “Both Sides, Now” – Seal

11. “Our House” – Graham Nash

12. “A Strange Boy” – Seal

13. “All I Want” – Rufus Wainwright

14. “Borderline” – Norah Jones

15. “Amelia” – Diana Krall

16. “The Boho Dance” – Glen Hansard

17. “A Case Of You” – Kris Kristofferson & Brandi Carlile

18. “Down To You” – Brandi Carlile

19. “Two Grey Rooms” – Chaka Khan

20. “Woodstock” – James Taylor

21. “Big Yellow Taxi” – Full Cast

Brush up on all your Joni Mitchell favourites on Spotify:

Listen on Apple Music

Related Posts