Joni Mitchell Announces New Box Set, Shares Remastered Version of “A Case of You”

Member for

3 years 6 months
Yes! I Want to discover more artists like [ARTIST NAME].
Submitted by karajayne on

Joni Mitchell Announces New Box Set, Shares Remastered Version of “A Case of You”

joni mitchell
Joni Mitchell. Photo by Gijsbert Hanekroot/Redferns/Getty Images. 

Joni Mitchell has announced a new box set titled The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) which collates the prolific singer-songwriter’s four-album run for Reprise Records in the late 60s and early ’70s, including 1968’s Song to a Seagull, 1969’s Clouds, 1970’s Ladies of the Canyon, and 1971’s Blue. The collection is set for release on June 25. Pre-order below. 


joni mitchell vinyl


The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) arrives June 25th, celebrating 50 years of Blue and is previewed by a 2021 remastered version of one of the album’s most cherished tracks, “A Case Of You” which you can listen to below. Stream here. 

All four albums featured in the upcoming box set have been fully remastered. In a statement about remastering the classic albums, in particular Song to a Seagull, Mitchell said: “The original mix was atrocious. It sounded like it was recorded under a jello bowl, so I fixed it!”

Joni Mitchell | “A Case Of You” [2021 Remaster]

The collection also includes an essay by Brandi Carlile, who writes of the immense impact Mitchell’s work on her own life, saying: “In my opinion, Blue is the greatest album ever made. Blue didn’t make me a better songwriter. Blue made me a better woman. No matter what we are dealing with in these times, we can rejoice and know that of all the ages we could have lived through, we lived in the time of Joni Mitchell.”

Last year, Mitchell released the first instalment of her ongoing archive series, The Early Years (1963 – 1967), comprised of recordings made prior to the release of her 1968 debut album, Song to a Seagull. The newly announced Reprise box set doesn’t serve as Volume 2 of the archive series, rather, the second volume will arrive separately later this year, focused on the timeframe when she recorded the four albums in the box set.

The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) is limited to 10,000 copies and arrives in vinyl, CD and digital versions, along with Mitchell’s first-ever merchandise run, on June 25th. Pre-orders receive an exclusive, limited edition 7” x 7” print of a self-portrait by Joni Mitchell. You can check out the box set’s artwork and tracklist below. Pre-order the CD or LP via, here.  

The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) Tracklist:

Song To A Seagull (1968)

1. I Had A King

2. Michael From Mountains

3. Night In The City

4. Marcie

5. Nathan La Franeer

6. Sisotowbell Lane

7. The Dawntreader

8. The Pirate Of Penance

9. Song To A Seagull

10. Cactus Tree


Clouds (1969)

1. Tin Angel

2. Chelsea Morning

3. I Don’t Know Where I Stand

4. That Song About The Midway

5. Roses Blue

6. The Gallery

7. I Think I Understand

8. Songs To Aging Children Come

9. The Fiddle And The Drum

10. Both Sides, Now


Ladies Of The Canyon (1970)

1. Morning Morgantown

2. For Free

3. Conversation

4. Ladies Of The Canyon

5. Willy

6. The Arrangement

7. Rainy Night House

8. The Priest

9. Blue Boy

10. Big Yellow Taxi

11. Woodstock

12. The Circle Game


Blue (1971)

1. All I Want

2. My Old Man

3. Little Green

4. Carey

5. Blue

6. California

7. This Flight Tonight

8. River

9. A Case Of You

10. The Last Time I Saw Richard



Listen to Joni Mitchell on Spotify:

Listen to Joni Mitchell on Apple Music:

Related Posts