New Derek Smalls Album!

New Derek Smalls Album!

Posted 21 Mar 2018


Derek Smalls, the bass force formerly of the fabled heavy metal band formerly known as Spinal Tap, returns with the release of his first full-length solo venture Smalls Change (Meditations Upon Ageing), out globally April 13 and available to pre-order here.

Additionally, Smalls launches his U.S. tour Lukewarm Water Live: An Adventure in Loud Music on April 14 in concert with the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra at the Saenger Theater, New Orleans. We can only hope this makes it's way to Oz!

Smalls Change is a poignant and oftentimes furious contemplation on aging that explores the passing of time and all things loud. With styles that cross the gamut of musical genres, the album possesses the edgy rawness and Rock God sensibility that was always shared by Derek and his fellow former band members, Nigel Tufnel and David St. Hubbins.

The album also features some of the greatest talents of rock and roll music and beyond including Donald Fagen, Dweezil Zappa, Rick Wakeman, Richard Thompson, Steve Lukather, Joe Satriani, Waddy Wachtel, Michael League, Jeff “Skunk” Baxter, Paul Shaffer, Steve Vai, Larry Carlton, Judith Owen, Jane Lynch and The Hungarian Studio Orchestra. Smalls Change is produced by CJ Vanston (Spinal Tap, Rodney Crowell).

Derek Smalls describes Smalls Change as “halfway between ‘rage against the dying of the light’ and trying to find the light.” When asked how he managed to round up so many world-class rockers to join the project, Derek’s terse response is “pity fuck.”

A video has been released for the title track...

And you can hear the singles on Spotify now including "MRI" featuring Dweezil Zappa, and "I Don't Get Old" featuring Waddy Wachtel...


Related Posts