Sepultura - Arise Expanded Edition

Sepultura - Arise Expanded Edition


 (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Sepultura hit its stride in 1991 when the Brazilian quartet released its acclaimed fourth record, Arise. Certified platinum based on worldwide sales, the album includes indispensable thrash/death metal tracks like “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)” and “Dead Embryonic Cells.”

This raucous classic is now available with a remastered version of the original album that’s been expanded with rare and unreleased studio and live recordings. Arise: Expanded Edition will be available on June 15 on streaming services, with the double-LP version that features an abbreviated track listing available now in Australia, here. 

In 1983, brothers Max and Igor Cavalera founded Sepultura.  Paulo Xisto Pinto Jr. joined soon after, and Andreas Kisser later joined as lead guitarist, rounding out the band’s earlier lineup. They have since sold nearly 20 million albums worldwide, including more than three million in the United States.

Following the breakthrough success of 1989’s Beneath The Remains, the band regrouped in Florida to record Arise with producer Scott Burns. Thrash and death metal were the album’s primary sources of inspiration, but tracks like “Desperate Cry” revealed the band’s love for hardcore punk, while the tribal rhythms of “Altered State” foreshadowed a new direction the band would explore on future albums.

Arise: Expanded Edition features a newly remastered version of the original album along with 28 bonus tracks. Many of those have never been released, including an industrial remix of “Dead Embryonic Cells,” “Meaningless Movements” from an August 1989 writing session, and a cover of Motorhead’s “Orgasmatron.”


Previously unreleased highlights from the second disc include a version of “Infected Voice” from writing sessions that took place in March 1990, as well as basic tracks for “Murder,” “Altered State” and more. 

To fit onto a double-LP, the vinyl version of Arise: Expanded Edition features a condensed track listing. It includes the 2018 remastered version of the original album, along with a selection of 10 bonus tracks from the CD set.


Related Posts