Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young Announce Expansive 50th Anniversary Déjà Vu Reissue

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young Announce Expansive 50th Anniversary Déjà Vu Reissue

Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young with Dallas Taylor and Greg Reeves. Photo by Henry Diltz. 

Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young are celebrating the 50th anniversary of their legendary Déjà Vu album with an expansive new reissue, due out May 14 (see here). It’s one of the most famous albums in classic rock, home to the enduring hits, “Carry On” and “Teach Your Children.” 


csny deja vu


The deluxe set sees the albums original ten tracks remastered, plus 38 more demos, outtakes, and alternate takes – most of which are previously unreleased – adding nearly two-and-a-half hours of music. The collection has been previewed with a previously unreleased demo of “Birds” featuring Neil Young and Graham Nash, from the original album sessions. Listen below. Stream here. 

Neil Young & Graham Nash | “Birds” [Demo]

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Graham Nash reflected on the demo and the era, saying: “I know it’s just me and Neil doing it with his acoustic guitar, but that’s a beautiful piece of music. It’s me trying to be the best harmony singer I can be with somebody of the stature of Neil Young. I don’t want to stick out singing extra words that he’s not singing. I have to be on my game. And ‘Birds’ is a perfect example of that.”

The deluxe box set is housed in a hardcover book featuring rare photos and personal accounts from all four band members, alongside liner notes from writer/filmmaker, Cameron Crowe who says: “Déjà Vu might just be the legendary band’s most accurate portrait of their fiery individualism.” About the upcoming Deluxe Edition, he declares the “sonic aperture fully opened, it’s a wide-screen look at the big picture of Deja Vu, with more music, including a batch of surprises, unseen photos and a lot more clarity.”

Among the highlights of the previously unreleased takes is an early version of ”Know You Got To Run," recorded by CSNY at the house Stephen Stills was renting from the Monkees’ Peter Tork; Crosby’s demo for “Almost Cut My Hair”; Stills’ outtake for “Bluebird Revisited”; and Young’s alternate version of “Helpless” featuring harmonica. Another gem making its debut is a delightful version of “Our House” that features the song’s inspiration, Joni Mitchell.

A new line of CSNY Déjà Vu-themed, organic merch made from sustainably sourced materials is also launching exclusively at and Though the official anniversary of the album was last year, the coronavirus pandemic delayed production of the Deluxe Box Set. It will now be out on May 14th. Check out the tracklisting and pre-order below. 



Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Déjà Vu: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album
1. “Carry On”
2. “Teach Your Children”
3. “Almost Cut My Hair”
4. “Helpless”
5. “Woodstock”
6. “Déjà Vu”
7. “Our House”
8. “4 + 20”
9. “Country Girl”
a. “Whiskey Boot Hill”
b. “Down, Down, Down”
c. “Country Girl” (I Think You’re Pretty)
10. “Everybody I Love You”

Disc Two: Demos
1. “Our House” – Graham Nash *
2. “4 + 20” – Stephen Stills *
3. “Song With No Words (Tree With No Leaves)” – David Crosby & Graham Nash
4. “Birds” – Neil Young & Graham Nash *
5. “So Begins The Task/Hold On Tight” – Stephen Stills *
6. “Right Between The Eyes” – Graham Nash
7. “Almost Cut My Hair” – David Crosby *
8. “Teach Your Children” – Graham Nash & David Crosby
9. “How Have You Been” – Crosby, Stills & Nash
10. “Triad” – David Crosby
11. “Horses Through A Rainstorm” – Graham Nash
12. “Know You Got To Run” – Stephen Stills *
13. “Question Why” – Graham Nash *
14. “Laughing” – David Crosby *
15. “She Can’t Handle It” – Stephen Stills *
16. “Sleep Song” – Graham Nash
17. “Déjà Vu” – David Crosby & Graham Nash *
18. “Our House” – Graham Nash & Joni Mitchell *

Disc Three: Outtakes
1. “Everyday We Live” *
2. “The Lee Shore” – 1969 Vocal *
3. “I’ll Be There” *
4. “Bluebird Revisited” *
5. “Horses Through A Rainstorm”
6. “30 Dollar Fine” *
7. “Ivory Tower” *
8. “Same Old Song” *
9. “Hold On Tight/Change Partners” *
10. “Laughing” *
11. “Right On Rock ’n’ Roll” *

Disc Four: Alternates
1. “Carry On” – Early Alternate Mix *
2. “Teach Your Children” – Early Version *
3. “Almost Cut My Hair” – Early Version *
4. “Helpless” – Harmonica Version
5. “Woodstock” – Alternate Vocals *
6. “Déjà Vu” – Early Alternate Mix *
7. “Our House” – Early Version *
8. “4 + 20” – Alternate Take 2 *
9. “Know You Got To Run” *

* previously unissued

Listen to CSNY on Spotify:

Listen to CSNY on Apple Music: 

Related Posts