Watch Gorillaz Go Interstellar with Robert Smith on New Single, “Strange Timez”

Watch Gorillaz Go Interstellar with Robert Smith on New Single, “Strange Timez”

gorillaz, robert smith
Image: Supplied. 

Earlier this week, Gorillaz teased a collaboration with The Cure’s Robert Smith was on the way – and boy did they deliver!  Episode 6 of the band's ongoing Song Machine project – from which the band have been releasing singles from sporadically since January this year – "Strange Timez" [feat. Robert Smith] has arrived today with the news that the entire 11-track collection, Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez, will arrive in various formats on October 23rd (pre-order here). 

The Gorillaz x Smith track music video sees the Jamie Hewlett animated band take an interstellar trip through space and time, guided by the familiar voice of Robert Smith, who appears as the man in the moon and a God-like android against a technicolour backdrop. Watch below:

Gorillaz | “Strange Timez” [ft. Robert Smith] [Episode Six]

“We did this tune with Robert completely by email,” Damon Albarn explained in an interview on BBC Radio 6 Music. Smith added: “I loved it! I thought it was excellent. I felt ripples in the force and I thought, ‘I better get this done’.”

Gorillaz have also shared the tracklisting for their upcoming Song Machine album, and it’s a star-studded affair! Collaborators include Elton John, Joy Division/New Order bassist, Peter Hook, St. Vincent, Beck and more (you can check out the full list below). The album will arrive on various formats on October 23rd. There are a stack of awesome bundles, with almost endless options including vinyl, CD, cassette, art prints, T-shirts and much more. Pre-order Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez here.  

gorillaz song machine merch
Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez merch options. 

And coming on the 12th and 13th of December is SONG MACHINE LIVE, featuring a unique blend of visuals and live Gorillaz performance with songs from Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez, performed live for the first time globally via livestream on LiveNow . For more information visit LIVENow

Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez 


1. “Strange Timez” (ft. Robert Smith)

2. “The Valley of The Pagans” (ft. Beck)

3. “The Lost Chord” (ft. Leee John)

4. “Pac-Man” (ft. ScHoolboy Q)

5. “Chalk Tablet Towers” (ft. St Vincent)

6. “The Pink Phantom” (ft. Elton John and 6LACK)

7. “Aries” (ft. Peter Hook and Georgia)

8. “Friday 13th” (ft. Octavian)

9. “Dead Butterflies” (ft. Kano and Roxani Arias)

10. “Désolé” (ft. Fatoumata Diawara) (Extended Version)

11. “Momentary Bliss” (ft. slowthai and Slaves)

Listen to Gorillaz on Spotify:

Listen to Gorillaz on Apple Music:

Related Posts